© 2020 by Martin Literary Management

Sharlene Martin, President
Sharlene Martin, Literary Manager/Producer

In 2003, Sharlene took her passion for great stories and their authors and her years in the entertainment industry, to form Martin Literary & Media Management. Her agency has experienced extraordinary success in sales and alliances. In the years since that time, her remarkable rise in the publishing industry is demonstrated by a rapidly growing list of non-fiction sales to such renowned major publishers as Penguin Random House, Harper Collins, St. Martin's Press, Hachette, Simon and Schuster, as well as to a host of boutique publishers for specialized genre books.

Representing adult nonfiction, she has numerous New York Times bestsellers and high profile books, including: Impossible Odds: The Kidnapping of Jessica Buchanan and Her Dramatic Rescue by SEAL Team Six by Anthony Flacco; Picture Perfect: The Jodi Arias Story by Shanna Hogan; Notes Left Behind by Keith & Brooke Desserich; Raffaele Sollecito’s book, Honor Bound: My Journey to Hell and Back with Amanda Knox; HLN’s Jane Velez-Mitchell's memoir, I Want; Suzanne Hansen’s You’ll Never Nanny in this Town Again; MaryJo Buttafuocco's Getting It Through My Thick Skull; and The Goldman family’s If I Did It, based on the OJ Simpson murders of Ron Goldman and Nicole Simpson. Many of Sharlene's authors have had their books boosted as serial reprints in prestigious publications such as Readers' Digest, People Magazine, WHO, and the London Times, and numerous clients have appeared on Oprah. Other client appearances include 60 Minutes, The TODAY Show, The View, Fox and Friends, Good Morning America, The Early Show, 20/20, 48 Hours, Discovery Channel, Inside Edition, The 700 Club, ET, The Insider, ABC Nightline, Dr. Phil, Anderson Cooper 360, CNN, HLN, Discovery ID and Fox News.

She is actively doing business with a host of film and TV companies for adaptations of her clients' books. Hallmark Hall of Fame's acclaimed TV movie in December 2008 was based on her client’s book, Front of the Class. She was Executive Producer of Lifetime’s 2012 movie, The Pregnancy Project, which garnered the two top Imagen Awards in 2012 for Best Primetime Movie/Special and Best Actress (Alexa Vega). She was Co- Creator/Producer of the reality series, DEADLY SINS for Discovery ID, which ran for six seasons. She was the Co-EP with Nancy Glass Productions for the 2015-16 season of specials, EPIC MYSTERIES for Discovery ID. She served as Executive Producer with Outpost Entertainment for A&E’s documentary, OJ: Guilty in Vegas. She will also serve as an Executive Producer of The Assassination of Gerald Ford being adapted by Andrew Logan and Taylor Allen, screenwriter/producers of Chappaquiddick.  She is an Executive Producer for Apple TV+ straight to series  one-hour scripted mystery, HOME BEFORE DARK, directed by Jon M. Chu (Crazy Rich Asians), based on her client, Hilde Lysiak, a 13-year-old crime reporter and publisher of the Orange Street News, and author of the Scholastic Branches six book series, Hilde Cracks the Case. The series premiered April 3, 2020 and has already been renewed for a second season.  She is also Executive Producer for Secrets of a Marine’s Wife for Sony Television in development at Lifetime and recently optioned The Stranger She Loved to Sony Television as well. She will serve as Exec Producer of Front of the Class with Alibaba Pictures.

Sharlene is a member of the Producers Guild of America. Additionally, she is also the co-author, with Anthony Flacco, of Publish Your Nonfiction Book (Writer's Digest Books) and Literary Fails: Totally (sic)!.

Publishers, editors, writers and entertainment execs who deal with her consistently express their joy in working with someone who is such an avid fan of good writing, as well as an enthusiastic guardian and representative of her clients' work. She employs this personal touch to all her business relationships and credits it with her proven record of success.

Sharlene only represents nonfiction and does not represent screenwriters.

Clelia Gore, Vice President and Literary Manager

It was when Clelia first read Charlotte’s Web in the first grade that she got hooked by the magic of books. Her love of children’s books carried through adulthood and she is delighted to dedicate her life to bringing quality books and stories to young (and whimsical adult!) readers. 

 

Clelia is originally from the suburbs of New York City. She has a bachelor’s degree in English literature from Boston College. She received her J.D. from American University, Washington College of Law and practiced law as a corporate litigator in New York City. 

 

In 2011, she decided to dedicate her career to books and reentered graduate school at Emerson College, where she received a master’s degree in Publishing and Writing. While she was studying publishing and taking creative writing courses at Emerson, Clelia gained firsthand experience in the publishing industry working in the children’s book division at Houghton Mifflin Harcourt and in academic books at Oxford University Press.  She also taught academic writing and research courses to freshman students as a graduate student faculty member at Emerson College. 

 

Clelia attends writing and publishing conferences. She also sits on the board of directors for Poetry Northwest magazine. In 2017, she was named one of Publisher’s Weekly Star Watch honorees.

 

Clelia acquires picture book, middle grade and young adult books. She is particularly interested in developing her nonfiction clientele. With apologies, Clelia is no longer accepting new adult fiction queries at this time.

 

To find out more about Clelia, check out her blog at www.cleliagore.com. She also tweets tips, news and musings related to writing and publishing at @MadmoiselleClel.

Adria Goetz, Literary Manager

Adria Goetz is a Literary Manager, currently accepting queries for picture books, middle grade, young adult, graphic novels, adult fiction (specifically female-driven thrillers/suspense and women’s fiction), quirky gift books, lifestyle books, cookbooks, and devotionals. She represents books for the general market, as well as the Christian market. 

She graduated from the University of Washington with a Bachelor’s degree in English with a Creative Writing emphasis, as well as the Columbia Publishing Course. Adria worked for the Pierce County Library System for two years. Prior to becoming a Literary Manager, Adria fostered her knack for developing creative work during her three years as an intern and assistant at Martin Literary & Media Management. In 2019, she was selected as a Publishers Weekly Star Watch Honoree.

If you’re not sure if your project is right for Adria, she hopes you send in a query anyway because she would love to take a look at your labor of love! She is specifically looking for:

  • Picture books: Adria loves magical picture books, stories with heart that feature everyday moments contemporary families experience, and funny, commercial picture books.
     

  • Middle grade: Adria loves a strong voice, a good hook, magical adventures, high concept stories,
    and graphic novels. 
     

  • Young Adult: Adria looks for a strong hook, and loves a strong sense of atmosphere. She is specifically looking for Graphic Novels, high concept Rom Coms, Thrillers, Magical Realism in the vein of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender, and a mermaid Fantasy.
     

  • Graphic Novels: Adria is looking for more MG, YA, and Adult Graphic Novels. She would also love to work with someone who has a hybrid format similar to Brian Selznick's works.
     

  • Adult Fiction: Adria is looking for female-driven Thrillers/Suspense, and Women’s Fiction (from upmarket book club fiction, to frothy beach reads).

 

Adria lives in an old Victorian home in the Seattle area with her husband Alex and their two darling cats, Maple and Mulberry. To learn more about Adria and what she is (and isn’t) looking for, check out her wish list. She tweets at @AdriaMGoetz

Britt Siess, Literary Manager

Britt Siess has seen all aspects of the publishing industry. She is a former bookseller, has interned for the Taryn Fagerness Agency, Wales Literary Agency, and Martin Literary & Media Management. Prior to joining Martin Literary as an Associate Literary Manager, she was with the sales division of The Quarto Group where she worked in domestic and foreign book sales. 

Britt represents everything under the Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror umbrella. If it has to do with comic books, witches, ghosts, or magical realms, send it her way! She looks for stories that are character driven and full of strong, resonating themes. She’s interested in literature that completely immerses readers into new worlds and that is imaginative and diverse. She's passionate about bringing more #OwnVoices stories onto bookshelves, and so she's particularly drawn to literature that makes us reflect on our own society and confront the choices we’ve made. 

 

At this time, Britt is only accepting queries for Graphic Novels. She is particularly interested in graphic novels for young readers, but she is open to queries for graphic novels for all ages. As an avid comics and graphic novel reader herself, her tastes range from contemporary stories that take on tough topics, to epic adventures in other realms. She welcomes any genre here! Author/illustrator submissions only please. To submit, please send the sample pages and pitch packet or proposal either as an attachment or as a link. Please also send the script, if available. 

Britt is a native of the Pacific North West but has never gotten used to the rain. She usually escapes the weather by popping into her local comic book shop or settling into a cafe with an extra-large coffee and a piece of cake.  

Britt tweets publishing tips, news, and tidbits about her life as an agent @BrittSiess. To find out more about what she’s looking for, check out her blog brittsiess.com.

Anthony Flacco, Editorial Director/Head of Adaptation Development

 

Anthony Flacco is the author of five nonfiction books and three historical novels, including the New York Times bestseller Impossible Odds: The Kidnapping of Jessica Buchanan and Her Dramatic Rescue by SEAL Team Six. His book, Tiny Dancer: The Incredible True Story of a Young Burn Victim’s Journey from Afghanistan is an international bestseller. Anthony holds an MFA in screenwriting from the American Film Institute. He completed the Walt Disney Studios Screenwriting Fellowship, and spent a year writing for the Touchstone Pictures division. 

 

Anthony provides guidance to MLM clients who need additional editorial support in fine tuning their proposals and manuscripts. Learn more about Anthony at www.anthonyflacco.com.